The following Public Service Trade Unions; South African Democratic Teachers Union (SADTU), National Education, Health and Allied Workers' Union (NEHAWU), Police and Prisons Civil Rights Union (POPCRU), Democratic Nursing Organisation of South Africa (DENOSA), have referred a dispute against the Department of Public Service & Administration (DPSA) on the Government Employees Housing Scheme (GEHS) – Resolution 07 of 2015 which was signed in May 2015.

The referring Trade Unions allege that the State has failed to implement the current agreement. The agreement amongst other issues state that, the housing allowance for all qualifying employees will be increased from R900.00 to R1200.00 for those who are paying housing loans and those who have dwellings in the rural areas. The provision of R1200.00 was supposed to be implemented in July 2015.

The PSCBC has received a dispute referral to conciliation in terms of Section 24(2) of the Labour Relations Act, 1995 on the 04th November 2015. The Council has afforded an opportunity to the other admitted Public Service Trade Unions to be joined in the dispute in terms of Rule 24 (1,2) of the PSCBC Dispute Resolution Rules & Procedures. These Trade Unions have until the 11th of November 2015 to make a request/ application to be joined in the dispute.

This matter is receiving the Council’s highest attention and will be scheduled for a conciliation hearing by no later than the 3rd of December 2015 in accordance with the PSCBC Dispute Resolution Rules and Procedures.

Contact the PSCBC

012 644 8100
012 664 5834

Physical Address

Public Service Co-ordinating Bargaining Council
Building B&BD
260 Basden Avenue
Lyttelton 0176